next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CLIMBING THE WALLS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

CLIMBING THE WALLS

I cannot take it anymore! I have been a prisoner of this house since last friday due to A.'s illness and I will lose my mind if I don't get away for a while.

The poor kid just is not getting better. She was running a fever of 102 - 104 from friday through yesterday. I took her to the doctor yesterday and he basically gave me the "its the flu, it has to run it's course" line and I insisted that so many days of fever indicated the kid was going to have a brain meltdown and I would hold him personally responsible. He listened to her chest as she coughed a cough that originated around her big toe and he prescribed an antibiotic for bronchitis secondary to the flu. "It may not help if it is viral, but lets be sure". I can't stand doctors. Too many years of working with them. They see a zillion people a day and treat them all as the same theoretical specimen.

Well, today, the fever only went up to around 102. Seemed like an improvement. The kid actually moved around a little but still wouldn't eat. Did I mention I could count what she has eaten since friday on one hand? This kid can't afford to lose weight. Anyway, A. decided to play a game on the computer this afternoon which seemed like a good thing. She was showing an interest in something. Maybe the antibiotic will help......

At 3:30 the kid walks away from the computer and lays down on the couch and is asleep in under two minutes. She slept for over two hours. She woke up long enough for me to ask what she wanted for dinner only to be told she wanted nothing. So much for improvement. A bit later A. wakes up and asks for something to eat. I fed her a few spoons of yogurt and she wanted half an apple. Great, she IS getting better. Wrong! An hour later we have moved to a new level. BARF. UUUUUGGGGHHHHHH!

I love my child, but..... Well I cleaned her up and brushed her teeth and changed her jammies and read her a story and tucked her in with a nice big towel. Pray she sleeps through the night.

Rainman is off tomorrow. I am going out. I am not going to stay in this house another day. It is not natural to sit around watching a kid be sick for a week. I am burnt out. It doesn't help that I haven't felt well for over a month. I need a sick day!

A. has been in bed for nearly an hour so maybe I can get some sleep.....

written at 9:05 p.m.
2002-02-20

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.