next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

I WOKE UP IN SIBERIA

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I WOKE UP IN SIBERIA.

I know it is completetly lame to keep going on about the weather but, shit, it hasn't been this cold since the winter of '98-99. I admit that isn't all that long ago but it doesn't take a body too long to get used to a more temperate winter. Yeah, we had the one year before last when we didn't see the ground for three solid months. But snow cover and freezing ones ass off are two different things. At the moment it is ten degrees with a stiff wind that makes it feel like your face will fall off if you stay out more than three or four minutes. It is enough to cause one to redecorate. Shit the inside of the house is getting DULL.

One of my great challenges this winter is not getting to crazy about two goats in a barn out in the cold (sheltered from the wind though). I stood in the barn today running my fingers through Sprinkles coat and my fingers vanished. She looks like some strange caprine teddy bear. Although she shivers on the milking stand, she seems to be OK. I just can't imagine surviving out there. Humans can't. This was recently proven by an inmate of a local prison who was only several weeks from parole on a one year DWI sentence. He apparently decided life on the "outside" was no longer an option and took off into the woods while on work detail. He froze to death (or cut his own throat to avoid freezing to death depending on the report). Either way us hairless "superior" beings are fucked when it comes to freezing fucking cold climates.

Anyway, A. is totally focused on ice skating. This is not good while the wind continues to blow. I managed to talk her out of it today given it was hard to breath while the wind unrelentingly blew at astronomical wind chills. She took it well but I fear the next couple of days will require several zillion pounds of clothes combined with gallons of hot cocoa. The only saving grace is by the time the child gets out of school it is at the warmest point of the day and there is a limit on how long we can stay out.

Oh, sorry, forgot a goat tidbit. Selena has this skin thing going on between her shoulders. There is this nasty crust that I thought was a result of her itching. It is right between where she rubbed her fur off scratching. Well, it seems something else altogether has been going on. Some of this crust came off and geeze was it gross. I am not squeemish, but....ugh. The crust came off and left a raw open wound. (sorry to disgust you but there is a point to this.) Anyway, when I noticed the crusty stuff I decided to use tea tree oil as I had been on the areas she had been scratching. If nothing else it would prevent infections. Well, when I saw the open wound I gritted my teeth and dumped a couple of drops of tea tree on the mess. The poor goat almost jumped over her, much larger, barn mate. Poor thing bolted out of the barn. Where is this going you may ask, other than trying to disgust the reader....Well, the thing is these animals are really pushing my confidence in my healing. I have been studying herbology for about twenty years. I have rejected the mainstream medical philosopy as the first choice based on extensive personal experience. I have over the past several years become more versed in homeopathy, aromatherapy, and more intuitive forms of healing. And here I sit wondering if what I am doing is OK. This may in part be because if I goof and this animal is fucked A. will be heartbroken. This is her goat. Well, P.S. I looked at her today and I think it is getting better. The wound reacting just as it should have and dried and scabbed nicely after the tea tree. The other areas are flaking off without comming off too quick. I am now diluting the tea tree oil with almond oil to deliver the tea tree to a greater area with a soothing emollient effect. She isn't gonna let me touch that area too much any time soon, but I think it may be OK.

One thing about having a kid is that everything you do becomes more important. I gets weird sometimes. A. sees me taking care of the animals and us humans and she thinks it is great. I would hate to shatter her confidence in making personal decisions about how to care for our beings. It is so disempowering to beleive only in the gods of the AMA (or the vet equivilent).

Well for all of you who thought the weather talk was very banal I hope you are satisfied.

Goodnight,

written at 8:31 p.m.
2003-01-20

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.