next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

I DON'T KNOW NUFFIN' 'BOUT BIRFFIN' NO BABIES

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I DON'T KNOW NUFFIN' 'BOUT BIRFIN' NO BABIES.

Geeze, Louise. The darned goat has her first batch of kids in my barn and the first one is a full blown tail first breech. Fuck, man. I flipped. No where had I encountered advise about dealing with this little delema. I called the mistress of the haven and got her voice mail. Rainman called the vet after it was all worked out and got reassurance. My goodness. Basically I knew from first thing this morning that today was the day. I thought maybe we would have until sometime tonight but...hey who knows with babies. Well, I went out to buy some herb plants this morning and when I got back Rainman informed me Sprinkles was behaving like she might want to get some babies out. I checked her and yes, she was staring off into space and yes she was a bit restless. Not alot more than the early morning but she was getting ready. At around 2pm I checked her and it was a whole different scene. I informed Rainman that we were having babies soon and told him to get A. By the time he went in the house to get A. it was obvious we had a "non-typical" birth. I looked at the bottom of the goat and all I saw was the tiny tail of a baby. NOT GOOD. The sac had broken and I didn't know if the babe was alive and if Sprinkles could deliver a babe haunches first. Sprinkles screemed like she was being butchered and I pushed down a little on the butt to help and out came a doe kid-ALIVE. I dried the babe and gave her to A. to keep warm and while I was doing this Rainman was keeping an eye on sprinkles and another babe was comming. He missed the babe and was shocked. I got in there and held the babe to get the mucous out and started drying that one. I sent Rainman out with the second babe to dry it and help A. while suddenly another babe came.

In less than an hour three kids were born the first a problem presentation. Sprinkles is sooo strong she got through it fine. The babies are fine too. They are trying to figure out what to do with those darned long legs. They are also attempting to nurse each others ears (do a web search for nubian goats and you will understand)

I am totally exhausted and totally energized!!

written at 9:20 p.m.
2003-05-10

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.