next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

SPRING FORTH LITTLE GOATIES

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

SPRING FORTH LITTLE GOATIES.

Selena had her kids yesterday morning. That darned little yearling goat had triplets. I went from two goats to eight in just under three weeks. Oh, and by the way, what is it with the first kid comming out a bit wrong. You remember Sprinkles first kid was a butt first breech, right. Well Selena's first kid came out nose first with his front legs folded back (they are supposed to dive into the world with their front legs streached forward and their little chins resting on the legs). Damned good thing he was small. I tried to find his legs to unfold them and then a huge contraction came and I had to just bear down on him a little and his shoulders popped out and after that it was over quickly. The babies are all very tiny and were very tired after they were born. Today they have taken their colostrum much better. Selena is of the opinion that I should not be messing with her udder. Rainman has had to hold her back legs down while I jam my shoulder into her to press her against the wall to milk her. She was a bit better today about it and tonight will be the ultimate test. I will be milking her alone. Pray she doesn't put her hoof in the milk pail.

I am totally exhausted today. I slept little last night because Selena was crying for her kids on and off all night. That and the fact that on top of new babies, yesterday was very stressful My Mom's home health aide announced she will not be in next week (my dad is having his hernia surgery tuesday, I am in the heat of farmer's market prep). I had to call the agency in the hope they could miraculously find a substitite. They claim they have but I don't believe it until the person actually walks into the house two days in a row. Then my Dad says he is pissing razor blades.. Friday noon and surgery a few days off.... let me think about this. Call doctor, get specimen to lab....now I have to go beep the covering doc to see what is going on. As of late yesterday there was no preliminary lab report.

It would be safer to fly around in an open cockpit plane.

written at 3:29 p.m.
2003-05-31

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.