next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

BABY IT IS COLD OUTSIDE.

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

BABY IT IS COLD OUTSIDE.

Less than a week ago it was 55 degrees outside. It is now around 10 with an expected low of around 0. My bones feel brittle from the cold. One of these days I am going to live somewhere with less winter.

Otherwise I am just getting back up to normal speed after the tummy thing. I am still pretty tired but my gut seems OK. I tried to catch up on some paperwork yesterday and managed some of it. The problem is when Rainman is in the house I just don't focus well. The man bothers me something awful. I had planned to do more catching up today and then the day started out so screwed up I just lost my focus.

Picture this.....

I got up around six this morning and as I was putting in my contact lenses I hear the smoke alarm going off downstairs. The one in the utility room had gone off twice yesterday and had been blamed on lint in the dryer. Well, this time it was the one in the hallway outside the laundry room. I woke Rainman to go deal with it since I can't reach the ceiling without a ladder. He is 6'4", he reaches without a problem. Well, he goes downstairs and takes the battery out of the alarm and says there is no smoke and gets back into bed. I found the very irritating under the circumstances. I went to the barn to feed the goats and when I came out I glanced at the chimney to see if there was smoke. I do this to see if the wood I put in the woodstove lit while I was outside. I got a bit of a shock to go with the comfirmation of the wood lighting. Black smoke was pooring out of the chimney for the heating system. I ran in the house and went downstairs to find the hallway full of black smoke too. I gasped some air and hit the cut off to the boiler and opened the windows. I got Rainman up again to check things out since the ass should have stayed up the first time. I called the plumber at 6:45am and put my electric radiator in my Mom's bedroom. The plumber came and things are OK. I just wonder what would have happened if I hadn't come in from the barn at that time. What if I had been out there another fifteen minutes or more like when I have to milk the goats?

Can you understand why I wasn't very focused today??

This seemed like the perfect day to remind Rainman of my statement to him that when the new year came I would decide if I was going to raid my IRA to hire a lawyer. He seemed to have forgotten this statement (most likely because he was either drunk or hung over when I said it). He then left to go on some mysterious errand not to return until he had picked up A. from school three hours later. That left me with the afternoon to think and get more unfocused. So just a few minutes ago he says that he is going to look into what he can do to get help admitting that he only gave one or two day tries in the past when he went for counseling or other things that are supposed to help delusional drunks* see the light of day (* if I ever write a book I will over use this term). He has no clue how far from the real world he is. He didn't deal with the situation this morning because he was either too hung over or still drunk from last night. I can smell it when he drinks and I found the empty bottle in his drawer this morning (I had to look to confirm under the circumstances). He would let his family die of carbon monoxide poisoning or fire because he is too hungover/drunk to function.

Pitiful.

Enough of that. I am still tired so I am off to my very warm cozy bed to hibernate, oops, sleep.

written at 8:35 p.m.
2004-01-08

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.