next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

WHAT ELSE COULD HAPPEN?

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

WHAT ELSE COULD HAPPEN?

Well, the good news is my wrist is somewhat better. I won't be lifting anything heavy with my left had for a while but I can type again.

Now the bad news.

Friday morning I got up to the coldest morining in a very long time here in New York. I also discovered that the central heat upstairs was not working. Turns out the zone that is our living space was not working. My parents downstairs had heat (thank goodness) and the water was hot. The pipes had frozen overnight. Major long time to get them thawed out and very expensive. We had to have them thawed since the weather is not getting much warmer anytime soon and we had not yet had a pipe break. If things partially thawed and refroze something could have gone even more wrong. Thank goodness for the woodstove. The living room, dining room, and kitchen were livable. The bedrooms were frigid. We will be putting a cut off to the heat in the garage (which some idiot hooked to the upstairs zone)so this can't happen again. That is where we ran into the most trouble. The wind was rolling down the mountain and hitting the garage door with a vengence and froze the damned pipes solid.

Enough of that. It was actually warmer today but we got a bit of snow. The wind should begin blowing again tomorrow and frostier air will take over again.

I often ask myself why I live in the northeast. I really don't like winter.

Hope all is warm and cozy with everyone out there.

written at 8:58 p.m.
2004-01-18

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.