next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

FLASHBACK

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Feeling slightly better today but now my father has the new and improved plague. This plague put a whole new twist on feeling shitty. Can't say you have a sore throat or even a stuffy nose. No up-chucking or butt running. No symptoms to speak of really unless you consider feeling like death on a shingle a symptom of something. Enough to make you think you are imagining the whole thing except it feels so damned lousy.

Well, that is hopefully over. I got throught the day without wanting to curl up and expire.

Still haven't got my thoughts together though. I do know I want to get somewhere other than where I am. I even have a really good idea what it feels like to be where I want to be since I have actually visited the place in this lifetime. The big question is how to get there. I never meant to find myself in this spot. If anything I had the opposite in mind. Just goes to show you that you don't always get what you want.

I had an episode of something that used to be today. I sat down and scanned some photos into the computer. I actually used to take lots of photos. I even got paid to take photos. I have photographed Helen Hayes and George Bush's brother. I photographed the govenor of New York before he was the govenor, the first time he ran for the job. I have made pictures for art and for money. I have found a vision that is mine alone. Too bad I misplaced that along with so many other parts of me. Anyway, as I was saying, I scanned some stuff into the computer today. Some of this stuff was sitting on my desk for over a year. Pretty embarassing to admit. Got me thinking though that it is about time I tried to get back to these basic parts of myself. It used to be that I ran on visual images and poetry. Now I run on housekeeping and discontent. What a shift. Funny thought the move to digital. I used to spend all night in a darkroom. You know, those little smelly rooms with the orange lights. I was like a vampire only I breathed in developer and fix instead of drinking blood. I would rise out of my box with the sun with a tray full of photos and a big grin on my face. Now I am considering selling my medium format equipment so I can buy top of the line digital. I can't have a darkroom out here in the country with my well and septic system. Besides the chemicals have always been environmentally horrible.

The photo I posted the other day was taken with my "clunk box" , a 6 X 7cm Pentax camera that looks like a overgrown 35mm. The negatives/transparancies are three times the size of 35mm and the difference in quality is incredible. I had lugged the camera and tripod and related equipment out into the woods in late October of 1996. A hurricane remnant had recently passed through and the waterways were running with awesome power. I must have been carrying close to 50lbs of equipment on my back and spent hours taking shots of the water and fall colors. The results were worth the effort. As a matter of fact that particular shot was printed from transparancy by a lab at NASA, compliments of Rocketman, and as I understand it is kept on file at NASA. Cool stuff and just so damned much fun. Well a few weeks after taking that picture I found out I was pregnant with A. That was the beginning of changes I never could have anticipated.

So, what I was saying the other day with that photo is that I need to get back to the place inside myself that made it possible for me to make that photo. I know I can't get back to that exact place because I have changed so much in the past 7 years, but I need to find the current equivalent. It is imperative to my sanity that I get back to a place deep inside myself that sees the world through eyes that search for beauty and poetry in the ordinary. I am just not sure how to find the path back.

I want to share that with A. She has the creative spirit in her. Would you like to see us?

This is one of the things I scanned today. That is me before the haircut and my little imp, A., the photo was taken about 6 weeks ago.

Hope the cold wind isn't howling at your house like it is at mine.

written at 8:44 p.m.
2004-02-07

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.