next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

ITS ABOUT TIME.

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Well, the mayor of New Paltz is now totally overwhelmed by requests from gay couples wanting him to marry them. This mornings paper reports at least 2000 requests. More marriages will be performed on Saturdays so they don't interfere with regular village business. The New York State Attorney General and the county district attorney are not stopping the weddings from being done.

There is a two mom family at A's school. These two women have a daughter and a son. They are very well educated pleasant people. They are a family no less than a heterosexual couple. I don't get the problem. No one is grabbing hetersexual people and demanding they marry a same sex partner. These folks just want to live their lives and, in some cases, raise their families like anyone else.

Enough said on that. I did say I wasn't going to get into this topic but it became unavoidable when it manifested in such a way in my area.

Otherwise it looks like spring is springing forth. It has been very warm for several days now. We have loads of mud and mounds of snow slowly melting so we will have even more mud. I can actually see some of the gardens now that the snow is melting. The phlox is turning green and the iris are showing new shoots. Birds are singing, deer are everywhere, and wasps were flying around on the deck yesterday. I walked down the deck stairs yesterday morning heading for the barn and who did I meet under the deck but a skunk. We took a good look at each other and I turned around and walked five paces away. The skunk seemed totally unconcerned about me. It must have been finding soME excellent grubs in the gardens. The skunk, fortunately changed course into the back yard and I started for the barn. I kept an eye on the skunk in case it got the idea I was after its grubs and wanted to defend its breakfast. I made it to the barn without a problem but I went out this morning with alot more caution. A few years ago we had sick skunks around and it was pretty creepy. I don't know if it was rabies or distemper that the animals had but I was chased back to the house from the mailbox one morning when I went out the get the paper. A skunk big enough for a small child to ride apparently thought I was a huge grub or something. Around the same time a skunk approached my father when he was at the machine shed. This happened in the middle of the day. No one got sprayed but if the animals were rabid.... Rainman had to shoot a couple of them. They were obviously sick and at the time A. was about three years old.

If it stays warm a couple of more days I imagine the peepers will be singing.

Oh, pat me on the back or something, I finally fixed the link to my older entries page. Now all you folks who just can't figure me out can go back and read what came before.

Well the coffee has barely kicked in so I am off to try to wake up a bit more. Wish me luck.

written at 7:56 a.m.
2004-03-02

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.