next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CHEESEMAKERS HAVE FLAT FEET.

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Cheeseroom report: The vat somehow, by some miracle, got moved from it's rather awkward position in the "garage" part of the garage to it's (probable) location inside the cheeseroom. That sucker is HEAVY! It took a combination of some dohickies that Magrit loaned us that are made to move heavy commercial kitchen equipment (what she has those for is anyone's guess) and a hydraulic jack like you would use on your car. I wish I had a picture, it must have looked like we were hugging the worlds biggest weeble. The sinks are in position and the two tables are together and fairly level. There isn't much in the way of extra room with all that stuff in there plus the space left for the chest freezer. The plumber should get here this week to install the sinks and stuff.

Speaking of cheese stuff.... I made two trips to the Mistress's milkroom to pick up milk. My demand is far exceeding my supply right now so I have been buying some extra milk from her. I turned seven gallons into mozzarella that I will streach tomorrow and another nine gallons into chevre. This is all in addition to the six gallons I put into feta yesterday. I anticipate another nine or so gallons into another batch of chevre later this week and a few gallons into yogurt too...... It is only Tuesday and my feet hurt already. I stood in the kitchen all morning. I imagine my feet will hurt even more when I am standing on concrete instead of a second floor floor.

Although the van did start on Saturday afternoon it was very much not running well. I wound up putting another few hundred into it to replace the fuel pump. It seems to be running very well right now. If it holds I may end up selling it to the woman who needs it to transport her husband who had a stroke. I could take the money and get the pick up I so desperately need.

A. is finished with the course of antibiotics. Thank goodness!! She has been very tired and I hope that will pass now that she is over the meds.

Speaking of antibiotics..... Shanti, my little black goat baby hurt her foot somewhere between thursday night and Friday morning. I took her to the vet Friday afternoon to make sure nothing was broken. Her bones are fine. She must have gotten poked by something though. I waited through the weekend but she wasn't better so yesterday I started the penicillin. She just wasn't putting any weight on the hoof and rather than have it abcess or worse...... Penicillin is one of the most benign antibiotics. I just really hate giving my goats shots. After I gave her the shot today I went to pick up the van from the mechanic. When I got back Shanti was sleeping on her side doing a great imitation of a dead goat. I thought, "oh shit, I left for ten minutes and she went into anaphylatic shock and died" She didn't move when I called her so I went down to the kid barn. She got up all normal and gimped over to say hello..... Scared me to death.

I have a bunch of pictures to post of various things. I just need to find the time.....

I should stop rambling now and get some sleep.

written at 8:55 p.m.
August 22, 2006

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.