next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

BARN BUMP AND GRIND

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

OK. Enough sentimentality. Let's get back to dirty farm facts. Shall we?

Remember I said on Thanksgiving I was thankful I finally had a buck in with my goatie girls? Well, making babies is a good thing when one want's to make milk for cheesemaking. When I put the buck in the barn he immediately got down to business and I do believe two does were knocked up on the spot. Since then there have been more success stories for this little fellow. I was a bit concerned though about two of the does since they are quite tall. The buck is only nine months old so he is not so very tall. Do you get the picture? Peg"A" needs to reach hole "B" and when the hole is higher than the peg would be reaching we could have a problem.

When I went out to milk this evening I found the little guy trying his best to reach Rainbow. She was clearly interested but she certainly wasn't going to make it that easy. Say by getting her long tail out of the way. Or, maybe, moving to lower ground while the buck stayed on the higher ground.

So into the fray I went in the hopes I could move Rainbow to the lower ground. She was having none of it and the buck seemed a bit embarassed. I did managed to keep Rainbow a bit still so he did his job, I think. I can't see the back end of the goat while I am holding the front end, you see.

Sigh, this is about as sexually exciting as life gets around here.

Sigh.

I came back into the house after all that and milking too and had to change my clothes since I smelled rather like a buck in rut.

Sigh.

***************************************


CHEESEROOM REPORT: The danged inspector finally called in response to an email I sent him over a week ago. I wanted to know if he would approve me getting milk from a local cow dairy farmer while I finish the milking parlor and wait for my goats to freshen again in the spring. Turns out the answer is yes. Very good news. This means I can get the cheeseroom inspected as soon as I finish the trim around the door and get the vintage fridge cleaned up. I may not be licensed by the end of the year but it will be damed close.

Whoot!!!

***************************************

I sewed A's angle robe today with no trouble other than absolutely dismal grey weather. Good thing the fabric is white. She is excited and loves the robe. She did want to make her own wings but there was a ready made supply at the school so that didn't need to be done. The first performance of the play is tomorrow morning with another on Friday morning and then Friday evening. The play is a short version of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. This fits in with the third grade study of the old testament. One of the cool things about Waldorf school is the kids study all religons over the course of elementary/middle school. Not with a particular emphasis on any being "right".

***************************************

Well, I guess the count down has begun. This is my 991st entry. Shall we have a pretend party when I hit 1000? A virtual potluck bash with vast quantities of champagn and chocolate (that is the hormones talking). Yummy.

written at 8:47 p.m.
December 13, 2006

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.