next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CHEESE BOMBS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I went to visit my states smallest licensed cheese room today. I came out of this, like so many other fact finding missions, both inspired and frustrated. First let me say that this facility is not on a farm. The family who is making cheese is doing it because the woman is on a local farmer market board and they had no diary vendor. We are not talking about farmers. So, the attitude is one of meet the regulations without the first hand experience of actually being a farmer. The owner/cheesemaker is a very recently retired physicians assistant and her husband has a painting buisness. Cheesemaking is an experiment being performed by folks who have other means of income.

The flip side is that the cheese room is really super small and was made inside of an exisiting garage. This fits in with what I have been envisioning. I now have an idea of how to make a part of my garage into the space needed. The use of modified commercial cooking kettles is innovative and I now have the contact info for the folks who retrofitted the equipment that is being used at this site.

The costs are still in a very prohibitive range. but I am wittling it down as much as possible.

I am bleary eyed from driving for nearly six hours today and taking in all the possiblities and prohibitions.

Part of me wants the "whole shithouse to go up in flames" (Jim Morrison) so folks appreciate the need for local food.

Just as a woman in Florida should be allowed to die according to her wishes and the authority of her gaudian/husband, folks should have the option of purchasing food from local farmers at thieir own benefit/risk. Government has become the big brother of George Orwell's vision and we, as individuals, no longer feel we can fend for ourselves without legislative action on the part of the greater wisdom of government.

This loss of individual freedom very deeply disturbs me, not only because I am a farmer who folks are not allowed to buy from but because I am told by those who "know better" that I don't know how to take care of myself. I am not smart enough to look out for myself, I am being told, not so subtley.

Right now the rebel is feeling very frustrated and sad. She wants so very much to offer basic nourishment to local folks. Processed with love and offered in a community setting.

But I am a criminal. Guilty of selling unlicensed dairy products.

I might hurt you if you come near.

Beware.

written at 9:02 p.m.
March 26, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.