next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CAN I GET ANOTHER OF ME MADE IN TAIWAN?

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Damn, damn, damn, and double damn. Luna had a fever tonight. I knew something was up when I milked her at mid-day and she wouldn't touch her grain and she just wouldn't stand for me. Tonight she again wouldn't touch her grain but she did stand better. I took her temp and she was 105.7. Sounds outrageous but goats are normal up to at least 103. Her 105.7 is definitely a fever. I called the Mistress to see what she has in her pharmaceutical arsenal that I could borrow. I would not normally use antibiotics but I know for a fact that I cannot get all the milk out of Luna's udder once a day much less many times a day. Therefore my only alternative is to use antibiotics to fight the infection that has obviously set in. I came home from the Haven with Penicillin, Banamine, and Epinepherine. Obviously the penicillin is for the infection. The banamine is for the toxins that will circulate and are inflamatory (kinda like advil for a fever in a person) and the epinephrine is in case the goat has a really bad reaction to the first two. I am ready to scream. I find this so frustrating. If I could milk Luna's udder until it is empty several times a day this wouldn't happen. If I had bred her when she was very young maybe none of this would have ever happened.

Raising children. Caring for animals. It sets ya up for the frustration of second guessing.

Bottom line is I am not going to let Luna suffer with a bad case of mastitis and possibly die from it. I will have to deal with the secondary issues of using the antibiotics also. The antibiotics will kill the good bacteria in her rumen just as they kill the good bacteria in the human colon. I will have to replace that for her with a suppliment.

Did I mention how tired I am?

There is more but I am too tired to go into detail. Lets leave it that my mother had a really low blood sugar the other morning and she just looks very tired. Oh and of course A. still has a fever so she will be home again tomorrow which is good because I won't have to get out of the house on time but bad because I have to deal with these other things which leaves her lying on the couch alone.

Human cloning becomes a very attractive idea sometimes.

written at 8:41 p.m.
March 10, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.