next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

COLD AND WET AND TIRED

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

It has taken me two days to get over the rainy miserable thing that was Sunday. It actually rained worse on Sunday than it had on Saturday and it got colder as the day went on. It really was a shame given I had so much yummy stuff to sell. I did OK because the people in the college town know how to use an umbrella but it could have been better.

After the market on Sunday we went to dinner at a friend's house. A. got to play with a classmate and there was good food and peach margaritas. FRESH peach margaritas. Very yummy. Janet, who hosted the gathering is a very down to earth and fun person. She lives in a late 1800s victorian that she runs as a bed and breakfast. It is a beautiful house that is decorated with vintage furniture and flare without being pompus. Janet has offered me a vintage commerical refrigerator that was given to her by a local orchard. She had meant to use it in her kitchen but her husband will not get around to making the space so she is willing to send it off to a new home. It has glass doors and says "self service" across the top. It will make a very cool cheese ageing refrigerator!

There is a substory to the dinner that I may cover in a private entry but I just don't have the energy right now to even give the poor behaviour a second glance. Let's just say there is a serious lack of social graces and an ignorance of what is appropriate family behaviour.

Cheeseroom report: The plumber finally came yesterday. Unfortunately he didn't get a huge amount of stuff done because he got called to another job. He got the water hook up started in the utility room and he put the drains onto the sinks. I had to call the inspector to be sure we could hook up the drains the way we had planned and it was OK'd. The plumber came back this morning only to have to leave again because someone had no water at their house at all. I understand he needs to help folks with big problems but it gets frustrating. I hope he will be here in the morning with focus.

I got forty bales of alfalfa hay yesterday afternoon. Don decided to deliver it immediately because of the rain in today's forcast. Good call about the weather but it really sucks stacking all those bales on a Monday afternoon when I am wicked tired. The goats are very happy about the hay though Just for the record forty bales of hay at at least forty pounds each means I picked up and moved 1600 pounds of hay in under an hour. Not too shabby. Want a hug, I'll crush ya.

It has rained all day and been very grey and dingy. This is day five of this. It was a novel change from the constant sunshine for about a day but now it is really worn out. The forcast is for rain from hurricane Ernesto to arrive here promptly in time for the coming weekend. Me thinks I will be taking it easy on the cheese production this week so I am not wasting energy.

I have to fit in picking up A's violin this week along with a doctor appointment for my father. That along with the plumber doesn't leave me much time anyway for cheesemaking.

I won a milk can on eb@y today and ironically the person who sold it lives just down the road. How funny is that? Sure saves on shipping charges too. Stainless steel milk cans are mighty heavy to ship.

Well, I am off to sleep. Last night A. woke me at 2am becasue the weekenders across the street were having a party and being loud assholes. Poor kid couldn't sleep because of the noise. It was quieter in my bed so she joined me. Too bad I couldn't get back to sleep for a long time.

written at 9:03 p.m.
August 29, 2006

3 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.