next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CAN WE LEARN COMPASSION?

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I just watched "Angels In America".

I am floored, I am thrilled, I am heartbroken.

I apologize to those of you who have seen this when it was new. I don't watch TV very often. When I do I like it to be something meaningful, poetic, radical, or just ranting fun.

This was sublime art originating out of heartbreak and political/social injustice/ignorance.

I flash back to working in the pathology department of a hospital in the mid 80s and seeing those first disturbing path reports reading "Kaposi's sarcoma" or "Pneumocystis carinii" pneumonia. These were diagnosis that should not be happening in the bucolic suburbs. Those were terms that only applied to greenwich village where sin and darkeness prevailed.

The politics of the times. The bigotry of the era. Everyone running around being greedy and getting as much of anything and everything that they could. Goes to follow someone was gonna get screwed up somewhere in that mess. Too bad that the focal point was a scapegoat population taking the fall/blame for a soon to be super-sized nation.

Have we learned anything?

written at 9:02 p.m.
2004-10-15

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.