next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CONTROVERSIAL OR BITCHY

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I flipped around the old TV box this eveing and ran across a rerun of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony. I would normally move on pretty quick except I hit this rerun at the exact moment that Patti Smith was being inducted. I had to watch. Patti Smith is one of my most admired punk poet artists (go look at my profile if you don't believe me). She was all choked up and thanking all the folks who have left the planet (there are so many from the 70s). She then performed "Because the Night" and an almost entirely bleeped "Rock N Roll Nigger". I imagine for some of you you saw the actual broadcast and this is old news. Me, I don't really do TV so I am feeling a bit slighted. How the hell can you broadcast a song and bleep all the "fucks" and "niggers" but leave all the "whores" totally untouched (don't laugh at that)?

This whole little episode lead to a discussion with A. about the difference between bad words and bad energy/intentions. I played Rock N Roll Nigger from the CD so she could hear what all the bleeping was about and we talked about the context of words and how the lines that are currently drawn are not always meaningful or rational. A. is at an age where all forbidden words have a strong allure and I want her to understand that those words are just that, only words. A person can just as easily hurt by calling another person ugly or dumb or a coward as they can by calling them an asshole, fuck, or shithead. It isn't the words so much as the intent.

A teachable moment rolled into a flashback to a most excellent rock poet. AND, she is still wearing a tie and has wild salt and pepper hair. Gotta love all that.

Maybe tomorrow A. and I will look at my Robert Mapplethorpe book that includes some of the original photos from the Easter album. For those of you familiar with Robert Mapplethorpe, don't worry I will not show her the hardcore stuff. I am not that liberal in my parenting. To tell the truth though, if she were to see it I would rather be the one to show her. Think what you will..... it is art which is life. Even if it isn't your life.

written at 9:02 p.m.
April 02, 2007

4 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.