next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

IT COULDA BEEN BETTER

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Xmas is over and the tears, I hope are dry. I am sitting here trying to wrap my mind around the fact that it took me over an hour to get A. calmed down last night. She had had a pretty good day. Santa goodies and a big meal and lots of sweets. Unfortunately Rainman was part of the equation and I think the accumulated affect by last night was just too much for the poor kid. It also didn't help that I had hurt my back without doing anything more than reaching for some wrapping paper on Saturday. I was walking around very slowly yesterday and self medicating with regular doses of champagne in an effort not to get crabby from the ache.

Anyway. This is how I see it. Rainman was being arguementative and dictatorial during the present distribution yesterday morning. A. wanted to give me boxes to open but Rainman wanted them given in some order. Take a chill pill fella and let the eight year old enjoy herself. Then the meal which came out fine but by the time we were done eating Rainman was sitting in a chair with his eyes closed like he was sleeping. Fun guy. He spent the majority of the rest of the day and evening like that. I actually suggested he go to bed if he was that tired. Then the blow up in the evening when I asked Rainman to give the goats water when I realized he hadn't done it already. He complained that he was tired and this and that so I suggested that my back injury probably is a little more prohibitive of carrying five gallon buckets of water to the barn than his tiredness etc. The goats got one bucket of water and Rainman promptly went to his room.

I sat down with A. to watch robots until bedtime and Rainman came out but the day had been heavily tainted. When A. got in bed she was crying and very upset and saying she wasn't getting enough time with me. I mentioned two days of baking and wrapping presents but I knew that wasn't what she meant. I think she means that she needs the consistant treatment she gets with me vs. the erratic and sometimes explosive treatment she gets with Rainman.

Unfortunately Rainman is off today but I will find something to do that will remove A. from the environment no matter how much my back hurts.

I hope everyone out there had a good holiday. Sorry I always need to vent the negativity but it helps me to figure out the next step.

written at 9:01 a.m.
December 26, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.