next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CROSSING THE BRIDGE

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Today was A's first full day of school. I would love to say I got alot done but actually I didn't. I made cheese and watched the League of Extroindinary Gentlmen. The movie was very so-so. I like Sean Connery though. I never watch movies anymore so I guess watching that WAS an acomplishment, although, not a productive one.

Yesterday was the Rose Ceremony at A's school. This is a ritual where the new first grade students cross a little bridge and are given a red rose by an eighth grade student. The first graders then join their teacher and as a group leave the community room and go to their new classroom. It was a very happy/sad occasion and a very nice ceremony, I have a photo of A. on the bridge with her rose but I haven't resized it yet. I will try to do that soon and post it. I have to email a couple of photos to other parents too.

I am very tired right now. I suspect the drowning dampness of over four inches of rain in just over twenty four hours may have something to do with it. That and the simple fact that I didn't have to be on call every hour of the day today.

My mother is still in the hospital. This is good and bad. Good since I don't have to do certain things I usually do. Bad in that I have to make phone calls to make sure what should be done for her is done. I can't be there and take A. to school so I call the nurses station each morning and then if needed the doctor. They keep saying she will come home and then I ask if they have done this or that and they haven't so then it is wait around some more and call the next morning.

The home care nurse called me yesterday and I let her know that I make decisions based on what is good for everyone and also based on the immediate need to act. I had no hesitation letting her know that it was damned unhealthy for my dad, myself and my mom to be up nearly all night last Saturday. I made it clear that it would have made no difference in my mom's care if she was "evaluated" on Saturday night or Sunday morning but it did make a difference in how aggitated she became with being up late and how exhausting it was for everyone.

I hope I was able to inflict some guilt.

written at 8:32 p.m.
2004-09-09

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.