next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

#%&***@#%*&

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I took A.to the waterpark today and don't ya know things fucked up big time. We were supposed to go with Mamma Bear but she didn't call me back so we went ourselves. At around 1pm I looked at my cellphone and there was a message. Well, the message was that my mom's catheter had come out and the homecare nurse wouldn't put a new one in unless she was "evaluated" so she was sent off to the ER which is just such a crock of shit. The message on my voice mail was left by the nurse from the agency that the home health aide works for. They come out occassionally to see that the aide is doing OK. They have no direct care issue with my mother beyond seeing that the aide is doing her job. She came in at a time when I wasn't home (we finally went to the damned waterpark) and the aide discovereed that the catheter had come out. Apparently there was some minor trauma when the thing came out because the balloon was a bit bloody and the aide agency nurse allegedly made it sound as if my mother was having a hemorrhage to the nurse from the homecare agency that actually would insert a catheter. Well both nurses/agencies have to make sure they are not respossible so they sent my mother off to the ER where she was stressed out by being confused and poked by stangers. My dad was hungry and stressed and overwhelmed by the whole situation. My mom came home with a presciption for meds I could have gotten with a phone call to her MD and another med that makes her puke. The harm vastly outweighs the benefit of the intervention offered by the homecare agencies involved. The only reason this happened is because the healthcare providers involved are afraid of being sued. Had I been home the fact that no one would have wanted to take resposibility for inserting a new catheter would have prevented me from stopping the waste of time and stress of the trip to the ER even though I could have gotten the same antibiotic prescribed by phone and my taking a urine sample to the doc's office.

Is it any wonder I drink a bit too much wine or beer? Is it any wonder I can't get what I want to get done done? Is it any wonder I want a one way ticket to another planet most days of the week?

written at 9:44 p.m.
July 26, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.