next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

DARKNESS AND LIGHT

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

This getting up at 5:30am in the dark to milk is getting played out really fast. I like daylight savings time but only in the summer when it is light out at both ends of my day.

Speaking of daylight savings time, I read in the paper today the the government is considering extending daylight savings time until the end of November in an effort to save energy. This is a repeat of something that was done during WWII. My mother told me that when it was done then it seemed like it was dark all the time. No wonder too, it is not human clocks that determine the amount of daylight, it is the fucking planet - duh.

It has been absolutely stunning out the past couple of days and it looks to be similar through the weekend. I must get my hands dirty, I just must. So many plants are popping up it makes me feel all giddy. The motherwort is demurely peeking out from under the leaf litter. The comfrey is boldly extending spiky new growth through the muddy mess. The yarrow looks as if it never experienced winter at all and the wormwood is quietly insinuating tendrils of new growth into the crunchy remnants of last years life. The lobelia hasn't shown signs of awakening yet but the poppys are gaily growing at an alarming rate. The violets are nearly uncurled in leaf and flowers will not be far behind. Imagine if I really took a look around what I would find.

I am concerned about Selena today. She hasn't been eating or milking well. I think the wormwood I gave the girls over last weekend to keep the normal worm population under control may have killed an unusually large number of worms and now she is feeling way off. Apparently when the worms die they give off toxins that can be quite difficult to deal with. I must put her back on vitimin C. I had stopped it because the runs are part of this too and the C can make that worse. It looks like this year I am being challenged with little health issues on a regular basis. I just hope we are done with any and all mastitis.

written at 8:56 p.m.
April 08, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.