next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

DR. WONDERFUL

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I LOVE my father's orthopedic surgeon! He is young. He is very nice. He is smart enough to think through the fact that a ninety year old doesn't need elephant traquilizer pumped into his body for invasive surgery if it can be avoided. This wonderful doctor opted to put three screws into the femoral head to repair the fracture. This procedure was done with spinal anesthesia. The odds, Dr. wonderful, says are ninety percent that it will heal well. There is a ten percent chance that the bone is too osteoporotic to heal and then more invasive surgery would be needed to do a partial hip replacement.

It was a very long day at the hospital after a poor night of sleep last night. But I am very relieved that the surgery was not as invasive or traumatic as I had thought it would be. Now we wait six weeks to see if the bone will heal well. The doctor showed me the X-ray of the bone with the screws in it. Trippy picture that was. My dad was back in his room for dinner and doing well. He ate and I had him ask for pain meds so it wouldn't start to hurt so much he wouldn't rest. He was woken up so many times last night by blood pressure takers and assorted other "healthcare" professionals that he got barely any sleep. At this point he needs to rest.

I will take A. to visit tomorrow. She made a card for him tonight. It will do them both good to see each other.

I am so tired right now I can barely hold my head up. How I drove home in the dark is beyond me.

Thanks for all the good wishes. It will be a long road to walking again but it seems the journey has started off as well as possible.

written at 8:50 p.m.
January 20, 2006

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.