next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

GARDEN THERAPY

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Ok, so I am still pissed but the energy has been tempered by getting very frustrated and upset. I don't want to go into to the details because it gets repeatative and whiney. Suffice to say that I would rather be doing things differently.

Since I couldn't change things by force of will or a temper tantrum, I decided a visit to the veggie garden might help. It provided things for dinner and the following photos.

I just love butternut squash and the fact that they keep really well is an extra bonus. Besides, the huge green leaves and mellow shading of the unripe squash is damned pretty.........


This was our first full size tomato. Cosmonaut Volkov is the only red tomato in the garden...................


What would we do without the cool cucumber during these heat waves? And the tomato and cucumber salads just are to die for.

The orange banana paste tomato is excellent with fresh mozzarella and pesto on a crusty bread. I should know that is what I had for lunch yesterday................

We haven't actually harvested any of these pole beans yet but we have had several meals that have included some sweet wax beans that are growing in the same row..............


A's favorite of all is the sungold cherry tomato. Most of these don't even make it into the house. They are so sweet they are like candy........

At the moment this is the silliest looking vegetable in the garden. The lemon tomato will lose the little black stubble and turn a lovely lemon yellow. These cukes are light with a citrus flavor. If you can find them at your farmer's market buy them.......

I didn't go to the other end of the garden where the herbs, salad, and peppers live. I did take a picture of a cosmos flower but the camera got confused with all the foliage and the flower came out blurred. I also didn't take any pictures of the german stripe tomato yet because they are small and green. When they are HUGE and red and yellow striped I will add a picture. There are also baby pumpkin gourds and yellow summer squash but I imagine this entry took a while to load for some of you so next time.

Happy heat wave.

written at 8:21 p.m.
August 04, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.