next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

GASPING AND STEAMING

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

OK, so there is a place for western heroic medicine.

The kiddo went from bad to worse. Fever returned but not a furnace. The dizziness worsened and the cough became goopy. So back to the doctor we went. We came home with a shitload of stuff. They used a nebulizer to give her the inhalation meds they gave her on Tuesday and it made a world of difference. I'm not sure if the meds were more beneficial or the moisture. She is also a bit dehydrated cause kids who are always flat on their backs don't drink enough. There was actually discussion of hospitalization. We have antibiotics, a nebulizer and the meds to go with it, and instructions to drink and then drink some more. Something is in full assault mode here and it must be banished. I really hate the antibiotic route but it seems the only option under the circumstances. I have to call the doctors office in the morning to let them know how things are going. At the moment A. is actually sitting on the couch. She hasn't done that in nearly a week. She will be fine. It just amazes me that she got so funky. She is an expert at fighting off germs.

This whole thing has really put a fine point on the lack of medical insurance. Imagine having to pay for hospitalization. At nearly a grand a day just to lay in a bed it would be quite a blow to the old finances. Of course I will not be able to mention it to Rainman because he doesn't talk about such things. He simply explodes in indignation at the mere insinuation that maybe pursuing a situation with some health insurance would be wise. The state insurance is set up similar to medicaid and the money that I have in my name that is my dad's would interfere with qualifying for that program. I will look into the possibility that farm bureau offers some sort of insurance option for farmers but I have my doubts about it being viable in this part of the state if there is even such a thing.

That last paragraph probably belonged in the private folder but today I don't care. Any eavesdroppers can think what they like and then go straight to hell (you know who you are).

written at 4:18 p.m.
February 09, 2007

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.