next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

A GENERAL UPDATE

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Today was a day off from school for A. Parent teacher conferences. My meeting with A's teacher was very positive. I took A's drawing book so that her teacher could see what she is doing at home. I love the depth of understanding of the children that the teacher has in her/his class in the Waldorf school. The realationship is not purely "professional" but is also intuitive and loving. I think many parents forget the level of influence their children's teacher(s) have. Just think of the number of hours a child spends in school. The approach to math that is used in the Waldorf ciriculum is wonderful. They start from the whole and then learn to understand the parts. For instance the number twelve is examined by using 12 objects (in this case pretty stones) and then deviding them into two groups to demonstrate that, for example, 8+4=12. In this way each child in the class can take the twelve objects and create a math equation and always have a correct answer. This is a very practical and affirming method of teaching.

***************************************

In other news, I am still tired. Not getting up at 5:30 this morning helped a little but it will take more than one morning to catch up. A. has a slight fever today so I will not be getting up that early tomorrow. I will keep her home to make sure she is OK. The goat routine is becoming a routine again. The only drag is the need to milk Luna at least three times a day. Her udder is slightly better but still lopsided. The poor thing has chapped teats from all the milking and just because this is her first time. She stands pretty good but after a while she just hurts and tries to kick me off. It can be very frustrating. I have plenty of milk which left me in the kitchen yesterday making queso blanco, yogurt, and rice pudding. I still have too much milk in the fridge. It will have to stay there a bit longer. I need to find more energy or sleep.

While I was in the kitchen making all that stuff yesterday I was talking on the phone with The Mistress of the Haven. Seems her husband has made a 180 degree turn and she needed my help writing a business plan so she can get a loan. We did it over the phone since it was snowing out like crazy. We were going to meet in the morning but school let out and it wasn't safe to be out and about. I am glad she is moving forward with her business plans but I am concerned that her husband will turn back into a mega-shithead.

Time to get some of that rest.

written at 8:52 p.m.
March 09, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.