next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

THE GOAT REPORT

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

GO BACK ONE ENTRY IF YOU MISSED THE NEWS

***************************************


I spent some time sitting with the goats this afternoon. It was so warm out that the poor pregnant things were very uncomfortable. Minnie seems to be having a tough time and she isn't even due until 5/2. She decided to lay down on the hill in the pasture and she just started rolling down the hill. It was funny as all hell but I felt bad for the little beasty. Something is going on with her. I could just feel it. It may just be the warmth but then it may be quads. She was a quad. The freaky thing is she is a small doe (Shanti's mom) and quads would be hard for her. The triplets she had last year were a task. A. and I decided to keep a special watch on her for a couple of days. She seemed off today and wasn't even chewing her cud with the regularity I would expect.

In other goat news, Shanti is doing just fine. I think she got broadsided the other day and it caused some discharge but everything has looked fine for the past couple of days and her babies are kicking regularly.

The rest of the trip (herd) looks good. Sprinkles is super wide but she always fools us because she has big babies. There is no guessing how many she will have. Selena is also very wide but seems more comfortable than she often is when pregnant. Rainbow stood next to me maintaining body contact for much of the time we were in the pasture. She is very posessive of me. Luna seemed to suffer the most from the warm weather and was breathing so fast it was almost a pant (yes goats will pant). I actually brought the goats back to the barn because Luna seemed stressed by the warmth and lack of shade.

It was nice to be able to really focus on each of the goats. I have felt so distracted for so long by the cheeseroom that I have missed so much of the contact with my animals that makes me happy and sane.

I think I will be able to focus on the upcoming kidding season with healthy attentivness that will be good for all involved. I can actually look forward to baby goats instead of trying to figure out how to do everything at once.

Now I will read my book and sleep the sleep of the accomplished.

written at 8:33 p.m.
March 27, 2007

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.