next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

HOLIDAY, YOU KID

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Cheeseroom report: I bet you didn't expect to see that today! Especially when I explain. I think I mentioned that after the plumber left and I was feeling frustrated because the cheesevat WAS NOT hooked up to the water supply, I emailed someone who I had visited to look at her cheeseroom and I also emailed a guy at a college who is the "be all end all" of cheese equipment authorities NYS. Well the guy at the college got back to me via email early this morning and I eneded up talking to him. He had a simple solution for the water hook up and will send me a schematic drawing for the plumber. The not so good thing is that we talked about the vat over all and of course he had to pick out one large problem the I was told wouldn't be a problem. That being that I don't have a leak detect valve on the vat. That is a $1000 valve that is used to drain milk from a vessel. The theory was I didn't need one because I would be making cheese in the vat and not taking fluid milk out of it. Now we need to remember that the guy I spoke with doesn't work for milk control but he is considered an authority and knows all the inspectors and all the regulations. His concern is that my inspector made a decision that could come back and cause me trouble in the future and that could well be true given that the inspector could choose to retire soon. SOOOOOO, I sent pictures to this guy and he said he was going to speak with someone about whether or not I might run into a problem. He claimed he would get back to me today but I imagine the other guy doesn't work on holidays so I didn't hear from him. I guess I will be on the phone at some point tomorrow. I just hope this doesn't cause me too much trouble. I feel like I am getting so close to done with the cheeseroom I wanna scream.


In other news I am in the process of restarting the food coop that some friends and I used to do. It seemed like a good idea to order through a local health food store but it changed owners and now they want to tack on a handling fee. Why I choose such busy times to do these things is a bit beyond me. I just know I need school lunch supplies without regular shopping trips. I just don't have the time so I am making an investment of time and energy in getting the coop back together. If I pull this off we will have our first delivery a week from today. Can you say "full freezer and pantry"?

Ain't it a shame that Steve Irwin got harpooned by a sting ray. The guy had become a bit of cliche but his intentions were awfully good.

written at 8:31 p.m.
September 04, 2006

3 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.