next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

IDENTITY CRISIS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Farmer

noun 1. a person who farms; person who operates a farm or cultivates land.
2. an unsophisticated person from a rural area; yokel.
3. a person who undertakes some service, as the care of children or the poor, at a fixed price.
4. a person who undertakes the collection of taxes, duties, etc., paying a fixed sum for the privilege of retaining them.


I haven't posted a definition in a while. This one is a word that troubles me since I have come to be indentified as one and have even learned to call myself one.

Too bad it isn't a word that commands a bit more respect. Definition number two is partiuclarly disturbing but better than the other listings I found that included the lovely descriptive "bumpkin". Yup, that would be me alright. Number three is interesting in that it refers to a fixed price arrangement that is garnered for the lowely task of caring for childeren or the poor (what about the poor children or the poor neglected farm animals?)

I think I should stop now. I may become angry and irrational and be mistaken for a yokel.

I guess I was very wrong when I decided that farmers are the folks who bring us food. Can't live without 'em.

What do you think?

written at 8:58 p.m.
November 13, 2006

5 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.