next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MANAGEMENT?

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Why on earth, do you suppose, someone would suggest raising their own rent?

I can't think of any good reason myself.

That is exactly what one of the vendors at the local farmer's market has suggested and pretty much had implimented. It looks as if I will be paying 50% more rent for my space at that market each week. Business at that market is not exactly booming so it really amounts to a pay cut.

I gotta ask it again.... why would someone suggest raising their own rent?

There is no justification from the perspective of the running of the market it's self. I know, I have been on the market board for a couple of years. Of course at the moment that board is not really functioning because the vendor who wants to raise the rent is also hell bent on making everyone's life miserable by being petty and vindictive because they don't know how to be farmer's or a market vendor. They have effectively acted as a log jammed into the wheels of a moving vehicle. This has created a situation where doubt has been cast over the running of the market and the woman who has been instrumental in the success of the market has stepped back and may no longer be a part of the market. It also is an issue that the vendor in question is the only "farm" in the actual town the market is located in so they are the pet project so to speak which may or may not give them leverage.

Sometimes I really hate people.

It was a lucky break that a vendor who didn't attend the last market meeting was there today. This guy has tons of experience at many farmer's markets in a wide variety of areas. He knows what he is talking about and was very much in shock at the discussion he heard this morning. K and I spent 90 minutes talking with Tom after the meeting and filling him in on some of the reasons he was hearing some of the things he heard. He was very disgusted by the whole thing and was ready to just not come back. We convinced him to attend the next meeting and hope his perspective will be heard because when K and I offer up similar opinions we are attacked because the pet vendor in part blames us for their lack of success.

What is it that makes some middle aged people behave just like 12 year olds?

Part of me just wants to walk away form the whole thing and go do another market on Saturdays. The other part wants to hang around and fight like a badger.

Either way I find the whole thing to be turning into an over managed bickering festival that will not change the demographics of the market's customers one little bit. About all it will accomplish is to make enemies amoung vendors which will create negative energy that will turn people who may shop at the market off.

Sorry, that was rather much. I just needed to write it out and get it out of my head so I can sleep.

written at 8:34 p.m.
January 07, 2007

1 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.