next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MIGHTY RIVER

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Have I ever mentioned I am friends with someone who hangs with Pete Seeger?

I just needed to feel peripherally important for a moment there.

Said person also spent alot of time on the Clearwater and helped build another of the Hudson River Sloops.

I have actually sailed on the Clearwater. A long time ago now. Beautiful experience. The silence of a river sloop. The tight space of below the deck. The majesty of a a sailing vessel in the style of early travelers of the river.

I grew up with the Hudson river being a big joy in my life. Skipping stones and feeling the lap of the tides as a small child. Watching fireworks from a bayliner style boat or a friends house boat on the 4th of july. Magick conjured and offered to the power of the tidal river. An apartment in a 1900 victorian with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river. Brackish and powerful. My mother was born in a small house on a bit of land jutting out into the river. Next to a tidal marsh. The river is in my cells. My DNA. I now live further than I ever have from that river. I miss it sometimes. I feel such a rush when I cross the Rip Van Winkle or Mid-Hudson bridges. I marvel at the fact that the river is tidal and brackish even so far north as the Mid-hudson. Not always brackish I suppose since drinking water is taken at that point. The river is clean again. Or at least cleaner. Isn't that what Clearwater was meant to do? And a resounding success it has been. Even when the founder was labeled "Communist". Success. It can happen.

Hudson river beaches. Imagine.

written at 4:44 p.m.
February 17, 2007

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.