next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MORE CHEESEY PICS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

For those of you who may be interested I have a couple of additional pictures of the cheddar making process.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

First a shot of the two cheeses that I made on New Year's day. I took them out of the press and the molds yesterday morning. They need to have salt rubbed into the outside and to be turned over each day until the outside dries. That could take a week or more. They will continue to weep whey for the first few days of the drying process so they are sitting on racks and mats above tubs.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

After those cheeses dry I will wax them and they will be put into the aging refrigerator. Right now everything is in this little undercounter type fridge. Since I made the two cheeses the other day I am now obligated to get the other gasket into the commercial refrigerator so they will have someplace to go and age for the next six months or so.

The only left to do after six months is to cut and package the cheese. The large wheels that I make in the large cheesepress weigh in at around 6.5 pounds each.

Now get out there and buy some local farmstead cheese!!

written at 9:35 a.m.
January 03, 2007

3 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.