next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MORE INFO

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

For those of you who don't know what a TIA is please go back and read the comment section of the last entry. My SIL was kind enough to define the term.

After some sleep I feel only somewhat fuzzy in the head and will provide a little more detail about the latest stress in my life.

My father went to the adult day care center he goes to sometimes. I got a call yesteday morning from one of the nurses there that he was having some numbness of his left arm. I spoke with my father and he said he felt fine but his arm was a little numb like it fell asleep. I suggested he move it around and see how things go. About an hour and a half later I got another call from the nurse telling me they had called 911. It seems my father couldn't grasp his lunch utensils or lift his arm toward his face to eat.

After several hours at the ER of the tiny rural hospital we were informed that his CAT scan didn't show anything acute (he has had small strokes back when A. was a baby) but they felt that the incident was TIA and could be a warning of a potentially catastrophic stroke coming. The discharged him because he lives with me. A stroke would not be preventable by him being hospitalized.

The recent diagnosis of congestive heart failure does indicate a higher likelyhood of stroke. Since the heart does not pump as efficiently there can be times when the blood flow to the extremities and the brain is reduced. This raises the chance of a clot which is what causes most major strokes.

Two things are looming. At 91 years old it is only a matter of time, and likely not too much of it. I just hope whatever happens is not a lingering suffering type thing. I cannot even handle comtemplating that much less dealing with it should it happen.

Now I have to go get ready for the opening of the college town market tomorrow. I need to have a great day to make up for missing today's market.

I just hope I can maintain functioning while I feel like I am stranded alone underneath a tremendous weight.

written at 10:07 a.m.
June 23, 2007

5 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.