next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MOSTLY GOOD STUFF

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

OK kids here come the pictures.

The past few days have been totally crazy!

Monday I had to take my father to the cardiologist. The good news is the diuretic has gotten the fluid out of his lung. He will have to continue the diuretic though. That means more frequent blood work to check his potassium levels.

Monday night we were over at The Mistress' farm until 9pm having the younger of our kids disbudded and helping to get her kids done too. We came in from milking at a few minutes before 11pm. We are both still in recovery from that day.

Yesterday A. had a friend over and it was an ideal day for the pool They had a blast. I did not have a blast yesterday due to the surprise visit from the milk control inspector. Let me say up front I don't like this woman at all. Her previous position with Ag & Mkts was as an onion inspector which obviously highly qualifies her to inspect dairy farms and cheese plants. Anyway, my cheeseroom was due for it's quarterly inspection and she also, and this is the only good point, looked at the milking parlor and took pictures to send to the guy who is temporarily doing the job of Dave who retired. I have been given the go ahead to use the new parlor and therefore my goat milk. The replacement guy should be visiting next month or communicating any issues he wants to make my life difficult with. Of course there were some messes in the cheeseroom but I couldn't fix that so the inspection was what it was. Don't get me wrong there wasn't anything huge, just some little things because I have been too busy and Rainman doesn't give a shit. It was all rather stressful and I spent several hours cleaning up the mess that she made. She took stuff off shelves and just left them. She was generally a big pain in the ass. I guess it will at least be obvious when she has been here given the upheaval. The one thing that really pissed me off was her telling me my 10 gallon milk transportation cans had some muck in them. There are some discolored areas where the clamps were welded on that Dave saw and was comfortable with. This woman made a big stink as if I hadn't cleaned the cans properly. I just can't wait to see the inspection report.

Today we are going to get the first fish for A's new aquarium. I will post pictures of those later. It is cool and cloudy today which is a huge contrast to yesterdays hot and sunny. I guess a good day to run to Malltown and run some errands after I finish with the pot of milk I am pastuerizing.

Now, finally, the pictures of the completed milking parlor. I think it is sooo cute and bright with so many windows in a room that measures about 8 X 12'.

First the exerior view. I repainted the barn so everything matches. I have some flowerpot hangers I will be adding with hanging baskets of flowers. In my opinion the world should be as beautiful as possible and flowers are an excellent way to beautify. Miss Minnie was curious about what I was doing standing next to the peach tree with a small silver box pressed to my face....

*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Next the view out the front of the parlor from inside. I will have a lovely view of the kid barn while I milk the goats. I got those little windows along with two additional brand new windows from a craiglist listing. Four windows for the price of one. The door is a $200 door I got at the materials exchange for $40. I got me some mean bargain finding skilz!


*
*
*
*
*
*

A. decided to pose with her completed knitted stuffed horse when I wanted to take a picture of the milking stand end of the room. She did a beautiful job of making the project in her handwork class at school. It is a very dark brown so it is not the most obvious thing. There is a large window on the wall behind A. that has a view of what should be my veggie garden and the fire ring. Anyway picture a goat on each stand munching her grain while I milk her with my vintage Surge milking machine.....

*
*
*
*
*

So construction is done and now all I have to do is put up with the bullshit from the inspector who will be hear at least on a monthly basis. Sigh.

written at 10:38 a.m.
June 13, 2007

3 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.