next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

NEW SHIT AND RUNNY POOP

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Have you seen? I have a banner. It took me nearly a year to make a banner and get it up and running. I really had no interest in a banner really. But being me and wanting to get my money's worth, I made a banner. I also want to put a bit of pressure on myself to cut down on dull entries and whining in general. This diary was started as a way to keep my writing ablilies alive and keep in touch with distant friends. It somehow spiraled into a whinefest extroidinaire (some of the time). So let me know what you think of the banner.

So let me fill you in a little bit about the Sunday meeting with my potential partner.

I met Kristen at the farmer's market. She was a customer of mine who, like many customers, hung out and talked a bit. It turned out that her husband is very interested in keeping livestock and she was humoring him in finding out more about goats. We became friendly and Kristen and her husband D. bought two doe kids from me this spring. Well, D. is happy as a big in shit about adding the two goats to his barn. He had already gotten guinea fowl and some funky chickens (fancy ones with feathery legs) along with some more ordinary chickens. He had been joking around that we would be partners one day and we both laughed and had long talks about farming.

Flash forward to this summer when the scythe of goverment regulation cut through the farmers market and put me out of business. Well, the joke about being partners started to be less of a joke. You see, D. has alot of construction knowledge and he went to an agricultural high school in Isreal (he is isreali) and has worked in a dairy (cow not goat) and knows the equipment and how it works (and how to fix it). He is dying to get out of the city entirely and work in farming. So...you see this being partners could be good for both of us. I know goats, I know how to make cheese, I have a customer base. He has technical know how and more acreage than I do. We could build the cheese room here and he could have a larger herd of goats than mine and milk at his place (about 7 minutes away) and bring the milk here. We could both go to markets and, hopefully, do very well.

So we are going to a workshop on Friday that will give D. more information about regulations. We will meet on a regular basis to brainstorm the details and see where we go with it. It won't happen fast but it could be a long term solution to growing the business in a sane (and legal) way.

New topic. (Skip this if you are squeemish or just ate)

One of my doelings is sick. Minnie was very sluggish on Sunday and has had runny poops for two days. It may be worms but I am not sure. I am giving her extra herbs to treat worms and keeping a close watch over her. Luna has some messy poops too but I think her problem is she ate too much while I was cutting her hoofs yesterday. I took the herd to the lower pasture today so they could browse the dry vegetation. I am thinking the extra fiber will help the runny butts.

Sorry about the graphic stuff but it helps to write this down so I can keep track of it and I generally don't misplace my computer while notes drown on my desk regularly never to be seen again.

written at 8:29 p.m.
2004-11-30

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.