next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

OF PONDS AND JOURNEYS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

The lethergy lifted a bit today. We had to exchange the sneakers we got for my dad. That took us to the crunch and cringe of shopping central. It wasn't so bad though. Waiting until several days passed from the frenzy of the day after xmas surely helped. Mission accomplished we went off to the pet shops to price hardwood branches for Jack-a-bird. He chews soft stuff up and I want to build him a shrubbery (no path). Something squat and climbable that will give him hours of cockatiel pleasure. I would scrounge local branches but the oaks are not the best choice and they carry their branches so high they are out of reach. The pine is a poor choice with oozing sap. The maple is fine but we only have a couple and they are living a very tentative life here in the acidic oak forest. Besides I would have to drill and add the screw ends and it would all be left for years awaiting completion while I do the things I do. Better to spend a few dollors and rig up the shubbery in a shorter amount of time.

While we were at the pet store we got some more fish to add to the 60gal aquarium. Tiger barbs that are fighting like cats. Nipping and circling each other. Some neon rosey barbs that are a wonderful neon rose color. Two albino catfish to tidy the bottom of the pond. I got sopping wet sticking my arm into the deep pond to move one of the decorations. When I reach to the bottom I am up to my neck in water. This time of year that is a rather cold proposition even with tropical fish. I love to watch the fish swim around and examine their interactions. The sound of the running water is wonderful too.

I called Magrit before we set out this morning. Her father in law died last night. His six kids were there and his wife. He was comfortable and it was a fairly fast thing given he had called Magrit's husband yesterday morning to inquire when he would arrive to give him his breakfast. I guess the nurses didn't rate. Only his eldest son could do the job. The sad irony of this man dieing in the same hospital room that Magrit's mom died in years ago was very very strange for her. Her mom suffered through a difficult cancer though so the parallel was limited to geography. This man was being treated for cancer but it was the emphasyma that ended his life. He advised his children who smoke to stop now. I can't imagine how any of them could continue after seeing him stuggle with respriations reaching 60 per minute while on a medication that reduces respirations. My friends, as far as I can tell, that is panting. I have met this man several times and he was quite the character. He will be missed.

I feel the lethergy creeping back. I will go make some food to eat and go to milk. Then..... more lethergy.

written at 4:29 p.m.
December 29, 2006

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.