next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

COPPER PIPES AND RASPY COOKIE ANGELS ON HIGH

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

This will be all you will hear form me until xmas is over so pay attention.

I have nearly lost my voice from the cold I so nicely woke up with at 2am Monday morning. The cold is getting worse each day rather than better which when combined with this mornings headline in the local paper "New York leading in flu cases" makes me a bit irritated. The good news is no fever but then I RARELY get a fever.

The heating system is another story. After the heat wouldn't work upstairs (where me and mine live) it suddenly kicked in at 4:25am yesterday morning with the sound of running water. I got up and turned the heat off in case it was trying to drain its ten gallon contents somewhere outside the pipes. When I dragged my congested head out of bed later that morning I found out the the heat was working just fine up here but had ceased to work downstairs in my parents apartment. Well, the plumber was here all morning today and he declared air in the pipes was causing the problem combined with the twists and turns the pipes make in their meander through the house. Apparently whoever installed the pipes when the house was built had more faith than knowledge and figured it worked so leave it that way. Bottom line is too many feet of pipe and too many elbows makes it hard to circulate the water through the pipes. The plumber disconnected the heat in the garage which was running off the UPSTAIRS heat in an effort to shorten the route and cut out some turns. $520 later everything was working fine.

Until 8pm tonight. Once again no heat downstairs. The plumber will be returning in the morning and re-fixing the problem and leaving with all our xmas gifts as payment.

On a more cheerful note I baked zillions of cookies today. I really didn't feel up to it but what is xmas without zillions of cookies to give away so other people will get all gooey and sugar shocked. I made ricotta cookies and peanut butter cookies dipped in chocolate and chocolate chip. The gingerbread cookies will be baked tomorrow since that needs to be cold before it is rolled and cut. The pie crust dough is made too so apple and pumpkin pies will be made tomorrow also.

Then I will sneak around placing stuff under the tree and collapse.

Have a very merry holiday!!!

written at 8:51 p.m.
December 23, 2004

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.