next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

POWER

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Today started off so sunny and blue it was very inspiring. A. and I got out to the patio to work on her aquarium table. We added the supports for a shelf underneath and sanded the whole frame. At first A. was a bit intimidated by the palm sander. She warmed up to it though....

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.
.
.

Even though the sander is a bit large for her hand she did a fine job. Of course she also ran down the battery on the electric screw driver. I may run out tomorrow morning to get the 1 X 4 lumber for the actual top and shelf. We have a 4H meeting tomorrow afternoon but once the lumber is here we can finish the table whenever we like in a short amount of time. Staining and polyurethane may be a challenge until the ground dries a bit. It is so darned damp out there because of the snow and mud.

In other news, A. freaked me out real good when she came in the house earlier today after being in the barn and asked, "Is it too early for a goat to kid?". Shit, kiddo, it is exactly four weeks too early! A. saw some discharge under Shanti's tail that reminded her of pre-labor goop. She thought maybe Shanti was going to kid. I went out with her to check on Shanti and became nervous when I saw some of the other much bigger goats ramming into Shanti's side. It could happen that a good hit would cause early labor. I stood with Shanti for a while and felt her baby(ies) move just fine though. I hope she will be OK. She is my little favorite who was such a tiny baby last year.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.
.

That is her in front of her two brothers at one hour old on March 23, 2006. I just totally fell in love with that goat the second she was born. Those triplets came out of my smallest doe and each one couldn't have weighed more than five or six pounds. Large breed dairy goats, like humans, typically have babies that weigh around eight pounds.

Can you tell I am still a bit concerned. I really don't know what I would do with tiny four week premature babies. That combined with Shanti still being a very small doe is making me nervous. The evil demon named What If is knocking on my nerves.

Say a prayer for the little black doe named Shanti that her babies stay in her belly for another month.

written at 3:32 p.m.
March 24, 2007

4 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.