next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

PRESENTING THE LUCKY GIRL

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Luna's little doeling is a strong girl. She was trying very had to stand but her little legs wouldn'g hold her. She has an excellent sucking reflex and filled her belly with colostrum and passed out. She seems to be holding body temperature but I am still keeping her covered under a tent made of a heavy towel. If she needs it we will put her on a heating pad.

What a pretty little girl. Don't you think?





She is a deep red brown overshot with black and has a black stripe down her spine like Luna has. One back leg has a white sock and she has a little line of white coming up from her belly too. Of course you can see her little white cap and her frosted ears and muzzle. A. has claimed her as her own although she doesn't have a name for her yet. LA suggested Fortuna which I will pass onto A. in the morning. She certainly is a lucky little girl to have come into the world at all.

Last Sunday I cried all over Luna because I just knew something sad and terrible was going to happen to her. I thought maybe it had something to do with her funky udder but maybe it was today that I saw coming. I hope Luna passes the placenta without a problem and doesn't get an infection from the invasive birthing help. I will have to watch her very closely for at least a week.

What a draining day. The rain is pouring down making all tasks very difficult. There is literally a river running down between the pool and the barn. It looks like the milking parlor construction will not be able to start tomorrow. I hear there is flooding on the way into the college town where A's school is. I wonder if we will even be able to go anywhere tomorrow.

written at 8:38 p.m.
April 15, 2007

4 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.