next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

RETURNED TO REGULAR BLOGGING

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

No soapbox this morning. If you are interested in soapbox topics please go back one entry.

It looks like the three day weekend will be a bit soggy. There is a slight threat of hail tonight into tomorrow morning but still none of the white stuff. I did have ice on my windshield yesterday morning. What looked like ordinary rain was freezing. I slipped a bit around one curve while taking A. to school. I guess none of the school district goonies went out to see how the roads were otherwise I imagine there would have been a delay. Back in the day (read '60s) we went to school when a foot of snow had fallen the night before. No early dismissals either. I remember one day when it snowed for much of the day when I was in middle school. It took over two hours to get home on the school bus. I only lived maybe six miles from the school. These days if there is even the chance of winter weather the schools shut down. It is no wonder no one knows how to drive in snow.

I had a conversation yesterday with some folks where we theorized that in the not too distant future snow will be a thing of myth. No one will really believe it was ever a real thing. Like dinosaurs or the moon landing.

K. and I have plans to go on a road trip to 1kea on Monday. She is opening another shop in town. I wonder if she isn't trying to single handedly create some culture out here in the backwoods. She has a toy/art supply shop now and will be opening a gift/gallery space a couple of doors down. One of the motivation for the trip to 1kea is she needs shelves and I can fit alot in the back of the PU truck. The bigger motivation is we both need to have a grown up playdate and the only way we seem to accomplish that is to get in the car and drive for over an hour. Our cellphones don't work inside of 1kea either so what more could we ask for. I need to compose a shopping list since we have a required time of return. K's hubby has a chamber of commerce meeting in the evening so we need to get back so he can go (someone needs to be with their kids). I really don't need/want to buy much. I would like to put a picture shelf above the mirrors above my dresser. I would like to get the tractor seat rolling stool for the cheeseroom. Kitchen gadgets and candles are always a bargain there. Maybe some funky fabric.... gotta prowl around the website.

I am having some serious issues with my left leg. About two months ago or more my left leg started going all tingly when I would stand up. Right down the outside of the leg from the hip to the knee and then down the back and into my foot. Weird. It has kept up and some days it is more intense than others. Now, for the past week or two the tingles has been overshadowed by a tendency for my leg to hurt like hell if I stand or am walking around. All of this is similar in some ways to the tendonitis in my elbows. That started with numb fingers and pain. I sometimes wonder if spending the five month market season standing has caused a muscle to contract so now sitting causes irritation of a nerve in my leg. I am trying to be very conscious of how I move that leg and I am streaching it in an effort to make it better. Unfortunately getting an official diagnosis is not on the menu at the moment. No health insurance means large expense to get a name for the pain. It would be nice to know what it is so I know what I can or can't do. The elbows were best treated with physical therapy. That is something that would need to happen several times a week. Again, too expensive. I am having a bit of trouble dealing with this given not being able to stand comfortably really interfers with me doing my job.

I had a most strange dream last night. I dreamt that I was assigned the task of bailing out sand from a large area. I was to do this job with another person, possibly Cccerberus. The problem was when we entered the area to get to work we sunk into the sand which seemed to be bottomless. It was a rather suffocating situation. We finally figured out if we stayed very still we didn't sink any more and we were able to gingerly fill our buckets with sand and send them off to be emptied and returned to us for refill. This dream went on for a long time and had some variations on the theme that I don't remember clearly. Very creepy in many ways, especially the suffocation factor. In other ways it was OK because the situation could be managed with attention and finesse.

I guess it is time to start the day. Or something.

written at 9:09 a.m.
January 13, 2007

3 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.