next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

REINVENTING THE HAT

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases


I am so tired today. I imagine you are all tired of hearing about it and believe me I am tired of being tired. Seems some part of me just couldn't sleep past 5am this morning. One day that I can sleep in and I wake up. Right around the time the coffee wore off and I discovered that the heat pipes were frozen, I went out to stack forty bales of hay that my hay guy so kindly delivered.

Did I mention tired?

I took A. to lunch at P@nera bread and we went to see my father. He was so very very tired (sheesh, there it is again). He fell asleep while eating lunch before we got there. The nurse said he was too tired to eat very much earlier in the day also. I fed him some applesauce and will take something more appealing than hospital food to him tomorrow. He has to eat to get better.

The heat pipes thawed out while we were at the hospital. It will be nearly as cold again tonight so perhaps we will get to do the whole thing again tomorrow.

The baby monitor is out in the barn. Gotta make sure it is working OK before goat babies begin to arrive. Poor Selena looks about to burst and is having a really tough time jumping up on the milking stand for her grain/alfalfa.

I get tired just thinking about kidding marathons.

Don't think about it right now you fool.

(I seem to be becoming schizophrenic, yikes)

Well, I guess I should tell you about the gift. Seems my buddy Hiss (sorry about the lack of linkage) decided I need a bit of cheering up so she sent me a little gift.

It was a week ago this past Thursday that I was out in the barn cutting hooves. It was a fairly warm day as I remember it and I was wearing my new Outback cap that I had picked up at the feed store. I generally don't like caps but this one struck me as OK and the bill is good for those rainy trips to the barn while wearing glasses (yeah when the contacts are cruddy I gotta wear the glasses). Keeps the rain off the ole' specs. I used to have a whole collection of cool and funky hats. Hats were my fashion statement for a while there. Now I have a few left and pull one out from time to time. The cap was the first hat purchase that wasn't winter warmth related in a long time.

Here is a photo of the hat.....








Nothin' fancy right? Anyway, I finished with the hoof trims and when I came back to the house the mail was being delivered and there was the rural carrier in my driveway with a box. I kept thinking he must have the wrong place, I hadn't ordered anything and I hadn't been messing with eb@y either. I took the box in the house when I saw it was addressed to me and opened it.

I smiled and I laughed when I saw what was inside the box. I examined it and admired it and then I took my cap off.

This is what was inside the box that arrived that day........







Now if I had linkage energy I would link right here to Hiss and her entry that includes a fairy outfit that is an excellent compliment to this new and wonderful headgear. Alas I am too pooped to link right now but I assure those of you who don't read Hiss that you should read her and her taste in fairy outfits and tiaras is impecable.

So I laughed and played with my new toy. Fortunately A. was at school so I got to have a bit of fun. I hid the item though when A. came home knowing she would want it for herself. I did finally show her and she did want it for herself and looked very cute in it. I was going to post a photo of A. wearing the tiara since she is so much cuter than I am but that photo session never happened.

My tiara fun was interupted by my dad having problems and then Rocketman arrived. Rockeman has some fashion sense about him and was willing to photograph the tiara on me for posterity. Well, I started playing around with my new toy again and I had a creative rush so to speak. I have invented the newest and coolest of farm wear. Something for the flashier farmers or those who just don't get to play with their pretties as much as they once did. The next time I have barn chores to do that require a bit of panache I will be sporting my newest hat. I even think it would work well for a 3am kidding but I would be afraid it would get slimed and be ruined.

Here it is folks.............







Is that the coolest farmer hat you have ever seen?

This is what it looks like on me.........









I still think A. is alot more photogenic than I am but the new hat/tiara is mine and I won't part with it.

Thanks Hiss!

written at 8:21 p.m.
March 04, 2006

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.