next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

STILL RUNNING

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

A monster snow squall came through this morning and dumped at least an inch of snow in under an hour. Pretty cool. The white should break up the grey very nicely.

Took a drive upstate yesterday to once again look at the pasteurizer that I will most likely be buying. I went with my potential future partner in the goat business. He knows machinery and plumbing and stuff like that. He found the drain that will allow the water in the jacket to be drained and replaced with cold water. This brings me a bit closer to comfort with buying the vessel. I keep thinking of other issues that may need to be resolved but I hope it all works out.

It is very frustrating not having the time to work more intensely on getting my cheeseroom built. I am rarely home and when I am I am very tired and distracted. Rainman finally is going to work today at the new job so having him out of my line of sight for some of the time should help. I think so much better without others walking into my immediate space.

One of my does has miscarried. Poor thing is miserable. I thought it was cystic ovaries and she was going into heat once a week but a very goat smart woman from New Zealand from one of the goat lists I am on suggested the abortion possibility. I realized that some of Rainbow's behaviour is just like a doe who just had her babies. She has been fondling my fists and calling to me as I walk away from the barn. There were some other physical signs that I took for heat but could have been from the loss of the pregnancy. It looks like we will be finding out how well she does if I milk her through rather than starting milking again after a rest and new babies.

written at 8:16 a.m.
February 06, 2006

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.