next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

SUNSHINE AND LONG WINTERS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

The sun peeked through a hazy layer of clouds today and we experienced true daylight for the first time in too long. I mean the light was a pleasant glow for the entire day. This has done quite a bit to bring my energy up. I wouldn't say that I am running around with enthusiasm but I did do the basic stuff that needed to be done which is better than I have been doing.

A. went outside with me first thing this morning. Why a seven year old would want to get out of her blanket jammies and go out to a twenty degree barn is beyond me. That child has a huge tolerance for the cold, it is truely amazing. She went out to the barn with me and discovered the snow is now a sheet of ice (where there is still snow). Later this morning I went out to give the pregnant goatie girls their selenium suppliment and A. went out with me. While I did barn chores and mixed grain A was out sliding around on the ice and making a stew in a pool of water under the upturned roots of an oak that blew down a few years ago. It turned out A. stayed out for at least two hours and I had to ask her to come in so we could go food shopping. It was just that good to be outside in real daylight.

Tomorrow we are going to a 4h meeting that was supposed to be a sleigh riding event but the snow is no longer snow. We will be surprised to find out what we will be doing. In my opinion just doing anything is a good thing.

Speaking of the 4h meeting, the Mistress of the Haven called to give me driving directions and she tells me she was talking to someone in Maine who makes cheese and that in Maine they encourage farmestead cheese production and their regulations are very easy to comply with. Now I just have to decide if I can handle Maine winters (brrrrr).

Which reminds me I have to send an email to L. so she can see who we can get a copy of Maine regs from. She just got the OK to use her title with the campaigne for sustainable agriculture when talking with people about regulation issues. It seems like this maze of rules that have gotten in the way will never end.

written at 8:45 p.m.
January 15, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.