next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

SURVIVED ANOTHER ONE

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Survived another Thanksgiving.

That sounds a bit odd, doesn't it?

Well, let me explain.

See here I sit at the ripe old age of 44 and I am still perpetuating the expectations of my parents. I can explain it as respect, or pity. I can resent it and I can regret it. But, it is what it is.

My perspective on most things is 180 degrees from my parents. It has been like that for at least 25 years, most likely closer to 30. It is a classic case of just because you are family doesn't mean you have to agree.

I wish I could tell my father that.

He would never get it.

So, I spent most of the morning really not liking that I was cooking and having to go through the motions. This was tempered by the fact that A. loves Thanksgiving. She really likes the feast idea. I have talked to her about celebrating the harvest and being thankful for enough to get through the winter. I don't know how much she has taken in, but that kid loves the idea of the feast.

We went to a local organic farm to pick up the dead bird. Very recently killed, thank you. If I am going to accomodate the meat eaters they will be given the freshest possible flesh to consume. A. loved the whole thing. She went racing downstairs to announce to grandpa that the smallest bird we could get was over 20 pounds. She was like a kid in a candy store looking at 20 pounds of jelly beans. Funny thing is she didn't eat much of the meat. Some, yes, but she did not go overboard.

Like so many things when dealing with children, don't stigmatize and the obsession doesn't kick in. I have raised her vegetarian but if her body needs more protein then fine. I just don't want her eating hormone laden food.

Anyway, so I was moping around this morning not liking the whole thing. But I survived and acutally once things were cooked it was OK. I got the pie crust just right and I only make mashed potatoes on Thanksgiving and Xmas and they where really good (yukon golds would have been better than the russets but...)

I celebrated surviving yet another holiday meal prep with a decent quantity of champagne. That made me all bubbly.

So here I sit at the end of the day wondering if I can get through Xmas day as well as today.

At least xmas comes with presents.

written at 8:29 p.m.
2004-11-25

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.