next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

THWARTED PLANS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I hope it is not a trend.

Yesterday I had grand plans to get a few things done and relax a bit while my dad was off at an adult day care.

Then the phone rang.

It was the guy I get hay from and he had bad news, he couldn't get any second cutting so he was offering some of his first cutting. I ran over to pick up a couple of bales to see if the girls will produce milk on it. By the time I got there he had gotten a call that he could get some second cutting after all. I brought a couple bales home to hold us over and figured I could still get something done before I had to pick A. up from school. I went out to put up the hardware cloth for the window in the kid barn. When they run on the walls they could go through the glass. While I got going on that The Mistress called to remind me we were supposed to experiment with yogurt making on a large scale at her place. OOoops, well it turned out she had some trouble with some helpers and that got put on the back burner. I did manage to get the window covered and a rail put up for grain dishes in the kid barn. Then a friend stopped by and we talked for a while while his 15 month old daughter played with the baby goats. Time to pick A. up by then so off I went. I got home and there is a bang on the door. I look and find a flatbed with bales of hay in my driveway.

Shift gears and move over 40 bales of hay. Yeah folks, you can say you know a woman who can lift a ton, in 40 pound increments but a ton nonetheless

Dinner sort of got cancelled by the hay moving. Good thing there was a big salad already made in the fridge.

Out to milk and A. figures out how to ride her two wheeler while I was in the barn. Much celebration was done. Then, my friend comes back to pick up the 25 bales of hay in my front yard (remember my potential partner?). He was out of hay too so I bought some for him.

p.s. A. didn't get to bed until 90 minutes past her bedtime last night.

Switch to today. I planned on driving to PA to pick up a couple of metal milking stands that I bought a while back (can't legally milk on a wooden stand). I finally got into the shower around 10:30 this morning and when I got out a kid was screaming. One of the buck kids had gotten his head stuck through two seperate openings in the hay rack. I worked for an hour trying to get him out and just couldn't do it. Between his horns and eyes and the fact that his neck was pressed hard against two of the metal rods that make up the rack...... I cussed, I cried, I somehow managed to carry him and the rack to the garage without breaking his neck. I couldn't get any leverage with a crowbar and I couldn't find a hacksaw. I finally called my neighbor but he wasn't home. Then I called The Mistress. She had to finish something up but she would come help. While I was waiting the poor kid was yelling and grinding his teeth (sure sign of pain).... I finally found a hacksaw blade and started cutting the rod nearest his head holding the blade in my hand. I got through the rod just as The Mistress arrived. It was easy to get him out at that point. His neck is swollen and he is sluggish. I hope he is OK.

Since I am writing this I guess you figured out I didn't go to PA for the milking stands.

written at 2:24 p.m.
May 02, 2006

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.