next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

WHAT'S IN THE POT

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

Somewhat improved today. The world is not spinning as frantically as the past couple of days and I seem a bit more likely to get things done without wanting to fall over. My right ear is still hurting but then it is still grey and humid and sometimes rainy. This type of weather does not agree with my right ear (too bad, Oregon has some good policies for folks who send their kids to alternative schools).

I spent most of today in the kitchen (NO!). As a matter of fact I have a pot with three gallons of milk in it cooling while two other pots totaling five gallons of cheese await hanging. I ain't done yet, baby.

I am considering a bit of magical intervention for the market. I'll tell you why.

We have a new vendor this year. They are the first farm actually located in the town that the farmer's market is in. They came in stating they would be selling meat and some produce. Their stand is right next to mine. They are selling a very small amount of vegetables along with the meat (beef, I think) and pickles and pesto (hey I sell that), and pies (hey, Kirsten sells that). They were supposed to be told before the season started that they should not duplicate pesto and pies since those items were brought by other vendors. Now the market manager is advocating competition. This is a drag.

Now, don't get me wrong, I have no intention of spelling them out of the way. I was thinking of doing a little hocus pocus to draw mine and Kirsten's customers from last season back to us. Just a little something to prod their memories of our yummy stuff. I do adhere to harm none after all. I just wonder how far one can take the harm none ethic. I don't feel to inclined to worry much given that the new vendors are tenured teachers in the local school district when they are not "farming" while Kirsten and I have no off season income.

This may not be the best time to figure this out. I am a bit preoccupied with my cheese pots right now. As a matter of fact I keep walking away from the keyboard to stir and prod them. I better go do that again right now. Don't go away.

OK, I'm back. Anyway, it just doesn't seem right that these folks are being treated as the pet vendor because they are located within the town limits. Our market is too small to support product duplication beyond produce. We have only a dozen or so vendors. This is not Union Square in Manhattan for cripes sake.

In other news.... I managed to get the party invitations mailed out for A's seventh birthday party. She is all excited about the whole thing. I hope she doesn't explode or something before next Friday. I am just wishing for a sunny day so the party is outside by the pool instead of in the house which looks like hell by that time in the week and I won't have time or energy for cleaning it. Oh, whatever.

It is time to culture and rennet the pot in the sink so I am off to do that and hope to eventually sleep. Mornings come too darned fast.

written at 9:30 p.m.
2004-07-14

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.