next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CRASH AND BURN

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

CRASH AND BURN

What a fucking day. I really, really, thought I could get some down time today and the fates twisted it otherwise.

Rainman was going into work late so I thought I would get a couple of run around errands out of the way and then when he left hang out around the barn and yard with A. Well guess again.

I was hanging out in the laundry room this morning and my father was on his way out to the grocery store when CRASH! BANG! My father falls in the hallway outside the laundry room. My brain immediately considers the likelyhood of a broken hip or some other elderly horror and heads for the scene of the accident. Now, consider that the hallway is a thin layer of carpet over the concrete of the lower level of this godawful bi-level. Hard landing pad for the youthful - potentially disasterous to the eighty-six year old crowd. I find the guy flat out and stunned. He is on his way to hyperventilation and is a bit confused. He seems to have tripped since he thinks he remembers the ride to the floor. He has a minor cut on his lip and his knee is skinned. He has maybe a sore hand. I have a really nagging urge to run like hell.

After several tense moments on the hallway floor I manage to get him on his feet and ambulating to the couch. He is shaky and embarassed. I park him on the couch with his feet up (double recliner couch - way comfy) and head upstairs for the homeopathics. I promptly dose myself with rescue remedy and head back downstairs with the arnica and calendula gels. After giving the old guy a hit of rescue remedy and applying arnica to the finger on his right hand that is rapidy turning purple and swelling and the purplish area on his brow, I proceeded to put some calendula gel on the skinned knee. Having done that I checked the injured hand for movement and it was working. There was no headache of consequence and things looked as if they might not be too awful.

After making a firm statement that he should stay put, I left my dad on the couch and retreated to other areas for a moment. Having decided that it was way too early for a drink and I had too much to do to use herbal relaxants, I decided that I would try to salvage the errands and get out for a bit if all seemed stable. I managed to leave the house and just sit in the van for a moment and try not to cry.

It just keeps getting harder.

Sitting here now I can say I think the old guy is OK. No headache or drowsiness or nausea from the bump on the head. Maybe his hand needs a look at, but we are taking my mom to the docs tomorrow so.... Fucking sucky way to start the day. Nasty reminder that things ain't gonna get easier anytime soon.

Certain readers out there may be wondering what rainman was doing through all this. He did come downstairs to see if everything was OK. He then retreated upstairs to "keep A. busy". The kid has seen more than he has....He didn't even say goodbye when he left for work.

I need a bit of time off. Just some time that I don't need to pay attention. Reprieve.

If things come in threes, my associates may be in trouble. When I saw Pucci on tuesday she had just learned that her father-in-law had to suddenly have brain surgery. He got a bad headache and he puked and an MRI later he was headed for the operating room (have I heard this before...) Well, I spoke to Pucci today and the surgery went well although "they couldn't get it all and it was cancer". Ahem, uh, that is great (I think). Hey he is going home this weekend. I feel very fortunate.

This kind of day drives home the fact that not having a relationship with a body that invades my space daily is really unhealthy. If I had nothing else to be hassled about it might not be so bad. Without a kid it could almost even be entertaining. With everything that is on my plate, I think I would be better off leaving the table.

And the good news is.....I finished the goddamned manger! And I put hardware cloth over two out of three windows in the barn. While I was feeling overwhelmed this morning I really wanted to go hang out with an animal in a quiet barn. Soon....

I am all typed out....goodnight

written at 8:25 p.m.
2002-03-14

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.