next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

BLOOMING

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I sit in proximity to a gnarly old cactus that insists on blooming every year from Samhain to at least Imbolc. This year she is still blooming today. She is really three, the three faces of the goddess. Maiden, Mother, and Crone. Ironically the oldest portion of this entity (the Crone) has been with me since I had barely started bleeding and the most recent aspect (the Maiden) has only been with me a short time, the recent years of motherhood and the stirrings of my own journey to cronedom.

A woman's life is a muddle and a mystery all stirred up and all happening at once.

She blooms in bright red, magenta and salmon blush. The red blooms first, excited and eager, the magenta is next, languid and contented, salmon blooms last, wisely taking her time as her blood no longer flows so close to the surface.

I never cease to be facinated by this display of the trinity that is a woman's life. I hope I will be blessed with this green beings joyful display for many years to come.

(But why, I must ask, is the drunkard's dream beginning to bloom. It's tiny yellow flowers drooping sneakily in my kitchen dripping a sickly sweet scent that reminds me of tropics I have never visited.)

written at 9:07 p.m.
February 11, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.