next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

CAUTION MERGE AHEAD

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

What was I thinking when I decided to put a guestbook out at the farmer's markets so I could make a mailing list? It seemed like a good idea back in June. In January, not so good. The people who gave me an email address are wonderful. I plug that email address into my email program addressbook as a group and I am set to send out little promotional ditties when the market season approachith. No big deal. Just a little typing, nothing more.The other 2/3 of the folks who signed the book left snailmail addresses. Those people will be recieving a bill for the time it took me to enter the three lines minimum of their addresses and then export said files in the appropriate format for a mail merge.

I GAVE UP WORD PROCESSING AND MAIL MERGE OVER TEN FUCKING YEARS AGO FOR CRIPES SAKE!

Way back then it wasn't even my job but I had to know everyone's job because I was the boss of the business office staff.

Anyway, I am not happy with the computer grind side of what seemed like a good promo idea.

I don't like grunt work. Never have. Now putting together a nice newsletter with photos and some writing that is fine. I actually didn't do that last season but I had in the past. People loved it too. Pictures of the goats and a featured cheese with a bit of history and info on it's use. Information about availability of certain items. Yup, I can do a newsletter. Mail merge...... not again any time soon.

While I was quietly cussing about mail merge details A. had a friend over. A friend I am not too thrilled with. I can't say exactly why the kid bugs me but she does. It isn't just the fact that she is one of those kids that if you tell her not to do something that will be the first thing she does. No it is something else too that I can't put a finger on. There was a two hour break between A's friend leaving and having to leave to take A. to another classmates birthday party.

How do these kids do it? I'm all tuckered out right now.

I know. It is the lack of hormones run amuck. Mine are certainly on the warpath today. I am alternately ready to scream, hit something, cry, or fall over dead asleep.

Add mail merge to the hormone cocktail and you better watch out.

Hey, the pipes thawed out today. It was a downright balmy 31 degrees this afternoon.

I'm off to sleep off the grump.

written at 9:03 p.m.
January 27, 2007

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.