next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MY POSSE

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I wonder why Charlotte, the wolf spider that lives in the back of the milking parlor decided to hang out on the fourth rafter out from her usual hang out this morning. She is a bit intimidating when she comes out in the brighter light. She was even moving around which is something she usually doesn't want me to see. She typically remains very still just in case I might be a juicy morsel she could feed on for the next fifty-two years or so. By tonight she was back in her usual spot but after a few minutes she went into hiding. Not that long ago I found the corpse of Charlotte's mate. He was smaller than she is (she is over two inches in diameter with her legs out) and when I tried to move him he got caught in a cobweb (wolf spiders don't make webs) and I left him alone. He disappeared by the next day. Charlotte must have had him for a midnight snack.

We were very happy to see our garden spider is back. She has built a smallish web on one section of the fence with anchors to the grass. She was calmly parked in the middle waiting for lunch to come along. You know the kind I mean, don't you? Big spider with yellow and black markings on her back and a fuzzy head area. I have a picture of one but I would have to resize, not now though. Last year when the garden fell into neglect after it was so cool and damp, Ms Garden Spider built a huge web in the garden doorway. That made going into the garden rather difficult since I don't kill spiders or disturb their webs if I can avoid it.

Funnel webs, have you seen those. We have little ones with a high-rise web on the milking stand. The spider sits in the little funnel cave part of the web and waits for something fun to come along. They never bother the goats or me. There is what looks like a gigantic funnel web in an old tree stump, I have to have another look at that one. I want to see how big the spider is.

Sweet dreams.

written at 8:53 p.m.
August 16, 2005

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.