next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

THANKSGIVING

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I'm thankful I finally got a buck into the barn to breed my does. No buck = not baby goats = no milk = no cheese = me in a really bad place.

Getting that buck was a long and agonizing task this year. With The Mistress careening down the road to a really nasty divorce I wasn't exactly at the top of her "to do" list. That combined with my lack of truck for a while there and I had a formula for cheese business disaster brewing. I guess the "silver lining" of this whole thing is the realization that as the herd grows I really must keep my own buck(s). It just can't be something I don't have full control over anymore. More importantly my business should not be the victim of others victim status.

Short form: I got problems of my own baby so why allow more to get a foot in.

The buck that is in the barn was born this past spring so he is a beginner at the breeding thing but his instincts seem good although his legs are a little short. We may have to put him on a step ladder or something for the taller does.

Otherwise a pretty uneventful day. I made mashed potatoes which A. loves and roasted beets and carrots and cheesey cauliflower. The pies came out very yummy.

I took a nap this afternoon because Rainbow was yelling all night last night. Poor thing was in heat so bad she was going from door to door of the barn screaming like she was being murdered in her effort to find a buck. Fortunately I should get some sleep tonight.

Tomorrow we have a playdate planned for A. and her buddy Rocky which means a paralell playdate for me with Pucci. I am sure champagne is in the equation along with herbal remedies.

written at 9:03 p.m.
November 23, 2006

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.