next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

MAYBE, TOO MUCH BARN NEWS

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

RELAX........

I just got back from the off-season farmer's market meeting and I really need to unwind. It was very exciting to talk to all the other vendors again after the winter. The vendors are all very nice fun people. The market manager is a young woman who started off as an Americorp volunteer and is now employed as a consultant for the farmer's markets in the area. She is an activist at heart with the energy and unfettered enthusiasm of youth. It is good to have the farmer's market as a part of me that is really about ME. I can't say that I am looking forward to the intense schedule of the market season but it is something that defines me. The whole parenting thing has a tendency to overshadow everything else and before you can say hey-de-ho you can't remember who the heck you are. One concern is that there is a new vendor comming in. That vendor wants to bring pesto. I make a kick-ass pesto that was one of my three best selling items. I will be speaking with the market manager about this. The market thrives because there is no competition amongst the vendors and therefore no anomosity. I was there first and I have a following for pesto. No new pesto vendors at the market please.

Barn news...It is reaching the point that I can barely feel Sprinkles ligaments anymore. She will probobly not last the week before she kids. I hear a few "huh"s and "what"s out there. Well for those of you who would care to know, one way to tell if your goat is going to have her babies soon is to see if you can feel the ligaments that run from just below her hip bones to just below her tail. When you can no longer feel these ligaments she will have her babies very soon. I have to really feel around to find Sprinkles ligaments. They are there but they are deep and they are very very loose. This girl is so ripe it is almost painful to be around her. She is so sensual and loving right now and she is obviously so big she is uncomfortable. She grunts and almost whines and is just so ready. I will post pictures of the kids when they arrive, you will not believe how cute they are.

In other barn news, Rainbow, Sprinkles daughter, is feeling the effects of her hormones and getting very vocal. She is becoming obviously pregnant and I don't think she is sure what to do. She is so upset when I leave the barn. She is very into physical contact but it is changing from her "puppy" energy to something more sustained and intimate.(yes, there are folks out there thinking I am crazy, but then have you ever met a goat...) She seems a bit confused and needs a hand on her back to help her feel grounded. I can't imagine her having babies, yet. She is one of those does that will most likely squeeze her bottom shut if I am not there to make her feel secure when her time comes.

Enough barn news, eh?

I may not want to talk about anything else right now so ....

How about the mud report!! Oh yes, we have mud and then if you need a bit more we have churned up mud and then for good measure we have soupy puddled mud and then if you really would like something aromatic we have trample goat poop mixed with mud and then if that doesn't meet your fancy how about some spongy almost gelatinous (sp?) mud that signifies a near total lack of soil but an abundance of decaying surface matter. It is such fun living on the foot of a mountain. Everything goes all runny in the spring. It is spring, isn't it, I mean, this isn't a tease or something. No it can't be, it must be spring. I haven't had to wear long johns or snow pants to the barn for days now. It is spring, yes, it must be. Oh, did I drift off for a moment, sorry.

I better go to bed now, I am obviously having trouble dealing with reality (what a concept).

written at 9:47 p.m.
2004-03-04

0 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.