next
previous
old
guestbook
profile
notes
private
diaryland

WHY WOULD CHEESE SNEEZE?

The current mood of greenwitch at www.imood.com

moon phases

I feel like I am getting a bit of a cold. That or the change in the weather has once again messed with my ears. I have been very tired and a bit dizzy all day. I guess tomorrow will prove which it is.

A. had a half day of school today which left me running like the wind. To the school, the gas station, the bank, the grocery store. Then home for all of an hour or so. Then back out to pick A. up again with a stop on the way back to visit The Mistress. Home again to sort and invoice the portion of the coop order that arrived. Followed by into the barn to feed the goats which included our first milking stand educational session with the yearling first fresheners Neesa and Shanti. Back in the house for dinner followed by rapid collapse.

Sheesh. Is it a wonder I feel dizzy?

Short elaboration:

The Mistress is doing OK given the circumstances. Her soon-to-be-ex has been messing a bit with her finances which is no surprise. To the best of her knowledge he has not been working regularly which does not bode well for child support. She lost two does and several kids to difficult kiddings that she was not home for. She has some really beautiful kids on the ground though. The woman is feeling a bit beaten down by all the work right now but in all likelyhood will be OK. Once the farmer's market season gets back up to speed and the money compensates the effort a bit better I imagine things will improve. I do doubt she will find a way to be two places simultaneously though.

Our yearling doe Shanti is due to kid around 4/30 and needs to learn the milking routine. A and I put her on the milking stand this evening with some difficulty. She is like her mother and grandmother in that she is smart enough to be nervous in new situations. We did get her head in the stanchion though. Funny thing is she is small enough to just pull her head out without aid of the larger opening above the restraint bar. Neese, also a yearling, did much better and will likely be another goofy spirited girl like her sister Rainbow and her mother, our herd queen, Sprinkles.

So having found my way to the end of another busy day what do I do?......
I manage to find this little article about how even cheese cultures can get a bit under the weather. I actually use cultures made by the company who did the research. Cool they are not using GMO to solve the problem.

Did I mention being a cheese nerd?

written at 8:24 p.m.
March 22, 2007

2 comments so far

Miss something?
- - January 26, 2009
- - May 26, 2008
- - April 09, 2008
- - January 21, 2008
- - November 24, 2007

All material copyright � Greenwitch 2001 - 2007. If you steal it I will hex you.